10 Senate Republicans Sign Pledge


(GoRealNewsNow.com) – A group of 10 Senate Republicans signed a pledge to obstruct Joe Biden’s agenda following the guilty verdict in former President Donald Trump’s Democratic-led New York hush money trial, marking the first conviction of a former U.S. president.

Senator Mike Lee (R-UT) disclosed that he and seven GOP colleagues—Senators Rick Scott (R-FL), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), and Roger Marshall (R-KS)—had signed onto a pledge.

Vance and Rubio are reportedly contenders to become Trump’s running mate in the 2024 presidential election, while Scott is vying to lead the Senate GOP alongside Senator John Cornyn (R-TX) and Senate Minority Whip Senator John Thune (R-SD).

“The White House has made a mockery of the rule of law and fundamentally altered our politics in un-American ways,” the pledge stated. “As a Senate Republican conference, we are unwilling to aid and abet this White House in its project to tear this country apart.”

The pledge continued:

“To that end, we will not 1) allow any increase to non-security related funding for this administration, or any appropriations bill which funds partisan lawfare; 2) vote to confirm this administration’s political and judicial appointees; and 3) allow expedited consideration and passage of Democrat legislation or authorities that are not directly relevant to the safety of the American people.”

Moreover, Lee announced that the list of GOP senators who joined the pledge had grown.

Two other members—Senators Josh Hawley (R-MO) and Ron Johnson (R-WI)—added their signatures, which gave the group nearly one-fifth representation in the Republican caucus of the upper chamber.

Despite the increase in numbers, a fraction of the minority party is limited in what they can do alone to stop Democrat leadership from making forward progress.

Copyright 2024, GoRealNewsNow.com